Skip to main content

2022 All-Pro Team: Travis Kelce, Justin Jefferson, Sauce Gardner highlight roster

Travis Kelce and Justin Jefferson are unanimous choices for The Associated Press 2022 NFL All-Pro Team, and Sauce Gardner is the first rookie cornerback selected in 41 years.

The Chiefs' Kelce and the Vikings' Jefferson received first-team votes Friday from all 50 members of a nationwide panel of media members who regularly cover the league.

Kansas City quarterback Patrick Mahomes, San Francisco 49ers edge rusher Nick Bosa and Chiefs defensive lineman Chris Jones each got 49 of 50 first-team votes. The Chiefs and Niners led the way with four players each on the first team.

Gardner, the fourth overall pick by the New York Jets, was named on all 50 ballots, receiving 43 first-place votes. Pro Football Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott was the last rookie cornerback chosen for the first team in 1981.

"That's a big deal to me," Gardner told the AP. "It was one of my goals before training camp. It's something I pray for. I worked so hard for it. It's a true blessing for sure."

Kelce's older brother, Jason, also earned first-team honors for the fifth time in his career to stay one ahead of his pass-catching brother. Jason Kelce's fellow Philadelphia Eagles linemate, right tackle Lane Johnson, joins him on the squad.

"Big honor, especially happy for (Johnson) who is the best tackle in the NFL without question, especially on the right side," Jason Kelce told the AP.

Johnson, a second-time All-Pro, has missed the past two games with an adductor injury but hopes to return when the No. 1 seed Eagles host a divisional round playoff game next week.

"We put in a lot of time and effort in the game, especially as you get older, you start to cherish it," Johnson told the AP.

Las Vegas Raiders running back Josh Jacobs is among the 16 first-time All-Pros. Jacobs led the NFL in rushing with 1,653 yards, scored 12 touchdowns rushing and averaged 4.9 yards per carry. The Raiders had three first-team picks despite finishing 6-11.

"The year definitely didn't go the way we wanted it to but, individually, it's definitely an honor to be selected," Jacobs told the AP.

Jefferson, who had a league-best 128 catches and 1,809 yards receiving, is the other newcomer on offense. Miami's Tyreek Hill made it for the fourth time, third as a receiver. Hill had 119 catches for 1,710 yards and seven TDs in his first season with the Dolphins. Raiders wideout Davante Adams got the nod for a third time. Adams had 100 receptions for 1,516 yards and 14 TDs in his first season in Las Vegas.

Cowboys right guard Zack Martin is a six-time All-Pro, 49ers left tackle Trent Williams and Browns left guard Joel Bitonio made it for the second straight season.

Mahomes also was an All-Pro in 2018 when he was the NFL MVP. He led the league with 5,250 yards passing and 41 TDs, helping the Chiefs go 14-3 to capture their seventh straight AFC West title. Philadelphia's Jalen Hurts got one first-team vote, preventing Mahomes from being a unanimous choice.

Cowboys edge rusher Micah Parsons, 49ers linebacker Fred Warner and Steelers safety Minkah Fitzpatrick are the only returning All-Pros on defense. It's a third time for Fitzpatrick. Parsons, who had 13 1/2 sacks, made it as a linebacker his rookie season last year.

Bosa, Jones, Jets defensive lineman Quinnen Williams, Ravens linebacker Roquan Smith, Bills linebacker Matt Milano, Broncos cornerback Patrick Surtain II and Niners safety Talanoa Hufanga all earned their first All-Pro selection.

Bosa led the NFL with 18 1/2 sacks. Williams had 11.

"I tell my wife my goals every day so she can keep me accountable and make sure I do the right thing and it was became a Pro Bowler and an All-Pro," Williams told the AP. "To get this news, all the work I put in has paid off and I gotta continue to do the same thing."

All six special-teams players are first-timers, too.

They are: Raiders kicker Daniel Carlson, Chiefs punter Tommy Townsend, Packers kick returner Keisean Nixon, Patriots punt returner Marcus Jones, Commanders special teamer Jeremy Reaves and Vikings long snapper Andrew DePaola.

This was the first year for the AP's new voting system. Voters chose a first team and a second team. First-team votes are worth 3 points, second-team votes are worth 1.



Quarterback: Patrick Mahomes, Kansas City

Running Back: Josh Jacobs, Las Vegas

Tight End: Travis Kelce, Kansas City

Wide Receivers: Justin Jefferson, Minnesota; Tyreek Hill, Miami; Davante Adams, Las Vegas

Left Tackle: Trent Williams, San Francisco

Right Tackle: Lane Johnson, Philadelphia

Left Guard: Joel Bitonio, Cleveland

Right Guard: Zack Martin, Dallas

Center: Jason Kelce, Philadelphia


Edge Rushers: Nick Bosa, San Francisco; Micah Parsons, Dallas

Interior Linemen: Chris Jones, Kansas City; Quinnen Williams, New York Jets

Linebackers: Fred Warner, San Francisco; Roquan Smith, Baltimore; Matt Milano, Buffalo

Cornerbacks: Sauce Gardner, New York Jets; Patrick Surtain II, Denver

Safeties: Minkah Fitzpatrick, Pittsburgh; Talanoa Hufanga, San Francisco


Placekicker: Daniel Carlson, Las Vegas

Punter: Tommy Townsend, Kansas City

Kick Returner: Keisean Nixon, Green Bay

Punt Returner: Marcus Jones, New England

Special Teamer: Jeremy Reaves, Washington

Long Snapper: Andrew DePaola, Minnesota



Quarterback: Jalen Hurts, Philadelphia

Running Back: Nick Chubb, Cleveland

Tight End: George Kittle, San Francisco

Wide Receivers: A.J. Brown, Philadelphia; Stefon Diggs, Buffalo; CeeDee Lamb, Dallas

Left Tackle: Andrew Thomas, New York Giants

Right Tackle: Tristan Wirfs, Tampa Bay

Left Guard: Joe Thuney, Kansas City

Right Guard: Chris Lindstrom, Atlanta

Center: Creed Humphrey, Kansas City


Edge Rushers: Myles Garrett, Cleveland; Haason Reddick, Philadelphia

Interior Linemen: Dexter Lawrence, New York Giants; Jeffery Simmons, Tennessee

Linebackers: Bobby Wagner, Los Angeles Rams; C.J. Mosley, New York Jets; Demario Davis, New Orleans

Cornerbacks: Jaire Alexander, Green Bay; James Bradberry, Philadelphia

Safeties: Derwin James, Los Angeles Chargers; Justin Simmons, Denver


Placekicker: Justin Tucker, Baltimore

Punter: Ryan Stonehouse, Tennessee

Kick Returner: Kene Nwangwu, Minnesota

Punt Returner: Kalif Raymond, Detroit

Special Teamer: George Odum, San Francisco

Long Snapper: Nick Moore, Baltimore

Copyright 2023 by The Associated Press